Home » Council News » Sports and Community Awards 2017

Sports and Community Awards 2017

Hatfield’s sports and community champions were recognised at our awards ceremony on Saturday 15 July, held at Club de Havilland.

The event, hosted by the Leader of the Council – Councillor Lenny Brandon, and Mayor of Hatfield – Councillor James Broach, saw awards presented to 16 worthy winners from Hatfield, and included entertainment from musical duo Scally and Angell.

Community Awards were presented for local and national charity work, and in recognition of community initiatives such as St John’s Youth Club, Bunchleys Pond (village green status), and restoration of a mass grave for victims of the de Havilland factory bombing of 1940.

Sports awards were presented to; Hatfield Netball coach Joy Porter, Ellenbrook Park Run volunteers John and Lynne Norman, OSA Ladies Football Team, John Spavins – Chairman of Welwyn Hatfield Sunday League, and Great Northern Football Club.

Please find below a full list of winners and photos from the evening.

Jackie Radford Community Award John Spavins Service to Football
Diana Cox Community Award Joy Porter Service to Netball
Mark Burley Community Award OSA Ladies Football Team School Sports Team of the Year
Jack Coombs Community Award Great Northern Football Club Sports Team of the Year
LA Metal Works Community Award John Norman Community Sports Award
Carl Welch Community Award Lynne Norman Community Sports Award 
Mark Lampert Community Award
Valeria Dorantt Community Award
Neil Carroll Community Award
Setting Out Community Award